A rack is a fitment problem before it is a shopping problem. Four racks and three bags for carrying a laptop, groceries or a change of clothes on a first bike, including the one rack that fits a frame with no eyelets.
The rack is the Topeak Explorer Disc MTX 2.0, and the bags are the Ortlieb Back-Rollers if you commute in weather or the MOSISO pair if you do not. But before any of that, turn your bike around and look at the rear dropouts. If there is a small threaded hole beside the axle on each side, and another pair up on the seatstays, every rack on this page fits. If there is not, only one does, and it carries 22 lb.
That check decides more than any pick below. Most of the drop-bar bikes this site recommends do not publish whether they have rack eyelets, and several do not have them. Thirty seconds with the bike upside down saves a return.
How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which bike we recommend, and we will tell you plainly when we would skip one. Full disclosure.
Quick picks
Ranked on published specs, what the listing does and does not tell you, and who each one actually suits. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not ridden these — here is exactly what we do instead.
#
Bike or gear
Best for
Price
1
Topeak Explorer Disc Rack MTX 2.0 (without spring)
The rack that publishes everything a rack should: material, weight, a 57 lb load rating and the safety standards it meets. The MTX QuickTrack rail on top means a Topeak trunk bag slides on and locks in seconds, which is the closest a commuter gets to a click-in luggage system.
A frame-mounted aluminum rack with disc-brake clearance and a published 760 g weight for a fair bit less than the Topeak. Its quick-release bag system is Ibera's own, so it is the rack to buy if you also like their trunk bags; with ordinary panniers it is simply a good rack at a good price.
The cheapest bolt-on rack we would put a laptop on. 6061-T6 aluminum, a published 60 lb rating, disc and rim compatibility, and a listing that is unusually honest about needing eyelets — it tells you to check for them before you order, which is exactly right.
The answer for the bike that has no eyelets, which is most first drop-bar bikes. It clamps to the seatpost with a quick release, carries a trunk bag or a strapped-down backpack, and publishes the number that matters: 22 lb, and no more.
The pannier every other pannier is compared to, and the reason is not the brand: it is a welded PVC-coated bag with a roll top that is rated dust-tight and splash-proof from every direction, on a hook system that adjusts to almost any rack tube. Expensive, and the one bag on this page that will outlast the bike.
Two 20L bags that hang off a rack and carry more than every other bag on this page put together. If your bike has rack mounts, this is the cheapest large-capacity answer by a wide margin.
A trunk bag that unzips into a pair of small panniers, and that slides onto a Topeak MTX rack and locks without a single strap. On the Explorer rack above it is the most convenient commuter luggage on this page; on any other rack it does not fit at all.
Topeak Explorer Disc Rack MTX 2.0 (without spring)
The rack that publishes everything a rack should: material, weight, a 57 lb load rating and the safety standards it meets. The MTX QuickTrack rail on top means a Topeak trunk bag slides on and locks in seconds, which is the closest a commuter gets to a click-in luggage system.
Who it is for: A bike with rack eyelets and disc brakes, ridden to work every day.
What is good
+6061 T-6 hollow aluminum, 620 g / 1.37 lb by Topeak's own figure
+Rated to 26 kg / 57 lb and the listing states it meets EN 14872 / ISO 11243, the rack standards
+Built with extra clearance for disc brake calipers, which is where cheaper racks foul
+MTX QuickTrack 2.0 rail: compatible Topeak trunk bags and baskets slide on and lock without straps
+Two-year manufacturer warranty published
What you give up
−Requires threaded rack eyelets — the listing says so plainly, and most cheap drop-bar bikes do not have them
−The 26.5 cm mounting arms may be too short on small frames; Topeak sell longer TRK-R023 arms separately
−This is the without-spring version, so there is no spring clamp to hold a loose jacket on top
−Costs twice what a basic aluminum rack does, and the premium is mostly the QuickTrack system
Skip this if. Skip this if you will never buy a Topeak MTX bag. The QuickTrack rail is the reason for the price; with ordinary panniers on it, an Ibera or CXWXC rack does the same job for less.
Published specifications for the Topeak Explorer Disc Rack MTX 2.0 (without spring)
Material
6061 T-6 hollow aluminum
Maximum load
26 kg / 57 lb
Weight (manufacturer)
620 g / 1.37 lb
Standards stated on listing
EN 14872 / ISO 11243
Mounting
Threaded rack eyelets required
Disc brake compatible
Yes
Wheel sizes
26in, 27.5in / 650B, 700C
Mounting arm length
26.5 cm (34.5 cm arms sold separately)
Bag system
MTX QuickTrack 2.0
Warranty
2 years (manufacturer)
Specifications read from the retailer listing on September 20, 2026. “Not published” means the listing does not state that figure — we do not estimate it.
#2Best value rack
Ibera Touring Carrier Plus+ (disc brake mount)
A frame-mounted aluminum rack with disc-brake clearance and a published 760 g weight for a fair bit less than the Topeak. Its quick-release bag system is Ibera's own, so it is the rack to buy if you also like their trunk bags; with ordinary panniers it is simply a good rack at a good price.
Who it is for: A bike with eyelets and disc brakes, on a tighter budget.
What is good
+Frame-mounted with disc-brake mounts, the combination most cheap racks get wrong
+760 g published weight — lighter than most racks at this price
+Height-adjustable to fit 26in to 29in and 700c frames
+Quick-release mounting for Ibera's PakRak bags
What you give up
−The listing does not publish a maximum load in pounds or kilograms — only 'heavier top and side loads'
−The quick-release system is proprietary; ordinary panniers hook on the rails like any rack, but you gain nothing from it
−One-year warranty against Topeak's two
−Requires rack eyelets like every frame-mounted rack
Skip this if. Skip this if you need a published load rating — for a heavy touring load, buy the rack that prints its number. For a laptop and a change of clothes it is more than enough.
Published specifications for the Ibera Touring Carrier Plus+ (disc brake mount)
Material
Aluminum
Maximum load
Not published
Weight
760 g (listed)
Mounting
Frame-mounted, eyelets required
Disc brake compatible
Yes
Wheel sizes
26in to 29in and 700c, height adjustable
Bag system
Ibera PakRak quick-release
Model
IB-RA5
Warranty
1 year
Specifications read from the retailer listing on September 20, 2026. “Not published” means the listing does not state that figure — we do not estimate it.
#3Cheapest bolt-on rack
CXWXC Rear Bike Rack (CX-H552)
The cheapest bolt-on rack we would put a laptop on. 6061-T6 aluminum, a published 60 lb rating, disc and rim compatibility, and a listing that is unusually honest about needing eyelets — it tells you to check for them before you order, which is exactly right.
Who it is for: The lowest price on a proper frame-mounted rack.
What is good
+6061-T6 aluminum with a published 60 lb load rating
+Fits 26in to 29in and 700c wheels, disc or rim brakes
+The listing spells out the eyelet requirement, and mentions a T-adapter for frames with a single eyelet
+All bolts and brackets included
What you give up
−The listing itself warns to re-check the bolts periodically, which is a fair description of budget rack hardware
−About 3 lb as listed, roughly twice the Topeak's weight
−No bag-mounting system — panniers hook on, nothing locks on
−One-year warranty and a brand with no service network
Skip this if. Skip this if your frame has no eyelets. The listing is clear that it needs them, and a rack forced onto a frame with clips and hope is how loads end up in the spokes.
Published specifications for the CXWXC Rear Bike Rack (CX-H552)
Material
6061-T6 aluminum
Maximum load
60 lb (listed)
Weight
About 3 lb (listed)
Mounting
Frame-mounted, eyelets required (T-adapter for single eyelet)
Disc brake compatible
Yes, disc and non-disc
Wheel sizes
26in to 29in and 700c
Bag system
None — standard rails
Warranty
1 year
Specifications read from the retailer listing on September 20, 2026. “Not published” means the listing does not state that figure — we do not estimate it.
#4For frames with no eyelets (22 lb)
Ibera Seatpost-Mounted Rear Rack
The answer for the bike that has no eyelets, which is most first drop-bar bikes. It clamps to the seatpost with a quick release, carries a trunk bag or a strapped-down backpack, and publishes the number that matters: 22 lb, and no more.
Who it is for: A bike with no rack mounts, carrying a trunk bag rather than panniers.
What is good
+Needs no eyelets — it clamps to the seatpost with a quick-release lever
+Publishes its limit: 22 lb / 10 kg, which is honest for a cantilevered rack
+700 g / 1.5 lb, TIG-welded anodized aluminum, adjustable length
+Built-in reflector mount and compatibility with Ibera PakRak trunk bags
What you give up
−22 lb is a trunk bag and a jacket, not a pair of loaded panniers — do not hang side bags on it
−A cantilevered rack sways under load in a way a frame-mounted rack does not
−The listing does not say whether it is safe on a carbon seatpost; clamp-on racks and carbon posts are a poor combination in general, so assume not
−Stock was 'only 12 left, more on the way' when we checked
Skip this if. Skip this if your frame has eyelets. A frame-mounted rack carries two to three times the load for similar money and does not sway. This rack exists for bikes that cannot take one.
Published specifications for the Ibera Seatpost-Mounted Rear Rack
Material
Anodized aluminum, TIG-welded
Maximum load
22 lb / 10 kg
Weight
700 g / 1.5 lb (listed)
Mounting
Seatpost clamp, quick release — no eyelets needed
Wheel sizes
26in and 700c, adjustable length
Dimensions
21 x 5.5 x 3 in (listed)
Bag system
Ibera PakRak trunk bags or strapped bags
Carbon seatpost
Not published
Warranty
1 year
Specifications read from the retailer listing on September 20, 2026. “Not published” means the listing does not state that figure — we do not estimate it.
#5Best panniers
Ortlieb Back-Roller Classic QL2.1 (pair)
The pannier every other pannier is compared to, and the reason is not the brand: it is a welded PVC-coated bag with a roll top that is rated dust-tight and splash-proof from every direction, on a hook system that adjusts to almost any rack tube. Expensive, and the one bag on this page that will outlast the bike.
Who it is for: Commuting in real weather, every day, for years.
What is good
+Waterproof to IP64 by Ortlieb's own rating — dust-tight and protected against splashing water from all directions
+20 L per bag, 40 L across the pair, with a 19.8 lb (9 kg) payload rating per bag published
+QL2.1 hooks come with 8, 10 and 12 mm inserts, so they fit the rack you already own
+PVC-coated polyester (PD620 / PS490), welded rather than sewn, plus 3M Scotchlite reflectors
What you give up
−Four to five times the price of the MOSISO pair
−Roll-top bags have one big compartment; small things sink to the bottom
−33.5 oz per bag by Ortlieb's figure — not light
−The Amazon listing publishes almost nothing; every figure here comes from Ortlieb's own Back-Roller page
Skip this if. Skip this if you commute a few days a month in fair weather. The MOSISO pair carries the same volume for a fraction of the price, and the Ortlieb's advantage — years of daily rain — is one you will not use.
Published specifications for the Ortlieb Back-Roller Classic QL2.1 (pair)
Capacity (manufacturer)
20 L each, 2 included
Weight (manufacturer)
33.5 oz each
Material (manufacturer)
PVC-coated polyester, PD620 / PS490
Waterproof rating (manufacturer)
IP64
Closure
Roll top
Mounting
QL2.1 hooks, 8 / 10 / 12 mm inserts included
Payload per bag (manufacturer)
19.8 lb / 9 kg
Rack required
Yes
Model
F5302 (Black / Red)
Specifications read from the retailer listing on September 20, 2026. “Not published” means the listing does not state that figure — we do not estimate it.
#6Best budget panniers
MOSISO 20L Panniers, 2-Pack
Two 20L bags that hang off a rack and carry more than every other bag on this page put together. If your bike has rack mounts, this is the cheapest large-capacity answer by a wide margin.
Who it is for: Commuting with a laptop and clothes, or touring on pavement.
What is good
+40L total across the pair, which is genuine luggage capacity
+Weight sits low over the axle, so handling barely changes
+Waterproof construction for commuting through weather
+Far cheaper per liter than any bikepacking bag
What you give up
−Requires a rack, which most sub-$1,500 drop-bar bikes are not fitted with
−Wide load — panniers catch wind and clip doorways
−Not suited to rough off-road riding, where they bounce off
Skip this if. Skip this if your bike has no rack mounts. Check the seatstays and dropouts for threaded eyelets first — without them you need a seat pack and a handlebar roll instead, and no amount of straps makes a pannier work.
Published specifications for the MOSISO 20L Panniers, 2-Pack
Capacity
20 L each, 2 included
Mounting
Rear rack
Waterproof
Yes
Rack required
Yes
Weight
Not published
Specifications read from the retailer listing on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the listing does not state that figure — we do not estimate it.
#7Best trunk bag (Topeak racks only)
Topeak MTX 2.0 TrunkBag DXP
A trunk bag that unzips into a pair of small panniers, and that slides onto a Topeak MTX rack and locks without a single strap. On the Explorer rack above it is the most convenient commuter luggage on this page; on any other rack it does not fit at all.
Who it is for: The Topeak Explorer rack, for a commuter who wants luggage that clicks on.
What is good
+Slides onto MTX QuickTrack 2.0 racks and locks — no hooks, no straps, off in a second
+Fold-out side panniers turn a trunk bag into real capacity when you need it
+600 denier polyester over rigid EVA foam, so it holds its shape empty
+Water bottle holder, shoulder strap, 3M reflective strip and a safety-light clip, all published
What you give up
−Only fits MTX QuickTrack 2.0 racks — on the Ibera or CXWXC racks it has nothing to slide onto
−Topeak's own page says 19.4 L; the Amazon listing says 22.6 L. We record both and trust the manufacturer
−Water-resistant, not waterproof; the rain cover is sold separately
−1,185 g by Topeak's figure, heavier than a pair of MOSISO panniers
Skip this if. Skip this if you are buying any rack other than a Topeak MTX. It is a system bag, and outside the system it is a bag that does not attach to your bike.
Published specifications for the Topeak MTX 2.0 TrunkBag DXP
Capacity (manufacturer)
19.4 L (Amazon listing states 22.6 L)
Material
600 denier polyester, rigid EVA foam
Weight (manufacturer)
1,185 g
Dimensions (manufacturer)
36 x 25 x 21.5-29 cm
Mounting
MTX QuickTrack 2.0 racks only
Waterproof
Water-resistant; rain cover sold separately
Model
TT9635B2
Warranty
2 years (manufacturer)
Specifications read from the retailer listing on September 20, 2026. “Not published” means the listing does not state that figure — we do not estimate it.
First: does your bike have rack eyelets?
A frame-mounted rack needs four fixed points: two low, at the dropouts, and two high, on the seatstays. Every rack on this page except the seatpost one says so in its own listing, and the CXWXC listing goes further and tells you to check before ordering. That is good advice from an unlikely source.
REI’s guide notes that a bike without mounts can sometimes take a rack using the metal C-clips that come in many rack boxes, which wrap the frame tube and accept the lower bolt. That works on a steel or aluminum frame with round stays and a light load. It is not something we would do with a laptop on a carbon bike, and the honest alternative is the seatpost rack in the table.
REI puts most rear racks at 20 to 50 lb, with a few touring racks to 80. Three of the four racks here publish a number: 57 lb for the Topeak, 60 lb for the CXWXC, and 22 lb for the Ibera seatpost rack. The Ibera Touring Carrier publishes none, which is the main reason it is second rather than first.
For commuting, the number matters less than it looks. A laptop, a lunch, a lock and a change of clothes weighs 10 to 15 lb. Groceries for two are about the same. What the rating tells you is the margin, and margin is what stops a rack rattling loose or swaying at speed. The seatpost rack’s 22 lb is not a limit you will hit; it is a warning that side bags do not belong on it.
The Topeak listing also states that the rack meets EN 14872 and ISO 11243, which are the published luggage-carrier standards. No other rack here claims any standard. It is the difference between a number a manufacturer chose and a number a test method produced.
Disc brakes change which rack fits
A disc caliper sits exactly where a rack’s lower leg wants to go. Racks built without allowing for it either foul the caliper or force the leg outward. The Ibera Touring Carrier and the Topeak are sold as disc-compatible, the CXWXC says disc and non-disc, and a seatpost rack never meets the caliper at all. If your bike has discs — and most entry-level drop-bar bikes with discs are gravel bikes — buy a rack that says so in its listing, not one that merely does not mention it.
Panniers or a trunk bag
A pannier hangs off the side of the rack; a trunk bag sits on top. REI’s guide has the practical rule for panniers: mount them far enough back that your heel clears them as you pedal, because a bag that is too big or too far forward “can cause an unsafe riding situation.” On a small frame with short chainstays, that heel strike is real, and it is the reason to mount panniers as far back on the rails as they will go.
Panniers carry more, sit low, and keep the weight over the axle. They are the right answer for a laptop and clothes, or for shopping. They also catch wind and clip doorways, which the MOSISO’s own cons admit.
A trunk bag carries less, sits high, and is the right answer for a seatpost rack, which cannot take side loads. The Topeak DXP splits the difference with fold-out side pockets, but it only fits Topeak MTX racks.
What the two pannier picks are actually buying you
The Ortlieb and the MOSISO carry the same nominal volume — 20 liters a side — at a price gap of four to five times. The gap is not marketing. Ortlieb publish an IP64 rating, which they define as dust-tight and protected against splashing water from all directions; a welded PVC-coated fabric rather than sewn polyester; a 9 kg payload per bag; and a hook system with three sizes of insert so it fits any rack tube from 8 to 16 mm. The MOSISO publishes “waterproof polyester” and two metal hooks.
If you ride to work every day and it rains where you live, the Ortlieb is the one purchase on this page that will outlast the bike. If you commute a few days a month and can pick your weather, the MOSISO does the job and the difference is a decent floor pump and a helmet.
The Topeak system, and when it is worth it
The Explorer costs about twice the CXWXC, and almost all of that premium is the QuickTrack rail. With ordinary panniers hooked on its side rails, the Topeak is a very good rack and nothing more. With the MTX TrunkBag DXP on it, it is a luggage system: the bag slides on in a second, locks, and comes off at the office with the lever. If that convenience is what would make you actually use the bike for errands, buy the pair. If you are hanging Ortliebs on it, buy the Ibera and save the difference.
One honest wrinkle on the trunk bag: Topeak’s own page lists it at 19.4 liters and the Amazon listing says 22.6. We print the manufacturer’s number and note the other, because the alternative is picking the bigger one.
Fitting a rack without wrecking anything
Bolt the lower legs first, loosely, into the dropout eyelets. Use the bolts in the box; a longer bolt from the drawer can reach through the eyelet and touch the tire.
Then the upper stays to the seatstay eyelets, adjusting the rack until the top platform is level, before tightening anything.
Torque, do not guess. Rack bolts go into thin frame material. A torque wrench and the figure printed on the rack are how a rack stays on.
Re-check after the first week. The CXWXC listing says this outright, and it is true of every rack: bolts bed in and loosen a little, and a loose rack is how a bag ends up in the spokes.
A seatpost rack skips all of that. Clamp it, level it, tighten the lever, and respect the 22 lb.
What we would spend
Eyelets and a daily commute: the Topeak rack and the Ortlieb pair, and you are done for a decade. Eyelets and an occasional commute: the Ibera Touring Carrier and the MOSISO pair, for less than the Ortliebs alone. No eyelets: the Ibera seatpost rack and a trunk bag or a strapped-down backpack, and keep the load light. And if the reason you wanted a rack was a night away rather than the office, the bikepacking bags page carries luggage on a bike with no mounts at all.
We have not ridden these bikes. Every site in this category says it tested twenty of them. We have not tested any, and we say so. What we did instead: read the manufacturer listings and manuals, compiled the published specs, worked out the real out-the-door cost, and checked live availability and price. Here is exactly how that works.
Questions people actually ask
How do I know if my bike can take a rear rack?+
Look for threaded eyelets: a small hole beside the rear axle on each side of the frame, and usually a second pair higher up on the seatstays. A frame-mounted rack bolts into those four points. If your frame has none, a seatpost-mounted rack is the honest option; it clamps to the seatpost and carries a trunk bag, but not loaded panniers.
Can I put a rack on a bike without eyelets?+
Two ways. REI's guide notes that many racks include metal C-clips that wrap the frame tube and accept the lower bolt, which works on a metal frame with round stays and a light load. The more honest answer for most first bikes is a seatpost-mounted rack like the Ibera, which needs no eyelets and publishes a 22 lb limit.
How much weight can a bike rack hold?+
REI puts most rear racks at 20 to 50 lb, with a few touring racks rated to 80. The racks here publish 57 lb (Topeak), 60 lb (CXWXC) and 22 lb (Ibera seatpost); the Ibera Touring Carrier publishes no figure. A commuting load of laptop, lunch, lock and clothes is 10 to 15 lb, so the rating is margin rather than a limit you will reach.
Do I need a special rack for disc brakes?+
You need one that allows for the caliper, which sits where a rack's lower leg wants to go. The Topeak Explorer Disc, both Ibera racks and the CXWXC are all sold as disc-compatible. Buy a rack whose listing says disc-compatible rather than one that simply does not mention brakes.
Panniers or a trunk bag for commuting?+
Panniers for a laptop and clothes or for shopping: they carry more and keep the weight low over the axle. A trunk bag for a seatpost rack, which cannot take side loads, or for small daily loads. Whichever you choose, mount panniers far enough back that your heel clears them - REI's guide flags heel strike as an unsafe riding situation.
Are Ortlieb panniers worth the price?+
For daily commuting in real weather, yes. Ortlieb publish an IP64 rating (dust-tight and protected against splashing water from all directions), a welded PVC-coated fabric, a 9 kg payload per bag and hook inserts for any rack tube from 8 to 16 mm. For a few fair-weather commutes a month, the MOSISO pair carries the same 40 liters for a fraction of the price.
Sources
Specifications come from the manufacturer or the retailer listing, dated. Where a figure is not published, we say so rather than estimating it.
REI — Bike bags and racks: how to choose — Retailer buying guide: rear racks are usually rated for 20 to 50 lb with a few touring models to 80 lb; racks attach to the frame's braze-on mounts, and without them most racks include metal C-clips that wrap the frame tube; panniers attach with spring-loaded hooks, clips or bungees and must leave heel clearance. Read in a headless Chrome session because rei.com refuses non-browser clients (accessed September 20, 2026)
Topeak — Explorer (Disc) rack, without spring — Manufacturer specification: 6061 T-6 hollow aluminum, 620 g / 1.37 lb, 26 kg / 57 lb maximum load, fits 26in, 27.5in (650B) and 700C wheels with disc brakes, QuickTrack compatible, article TA2135B (accessed September 20, 2026)
Topeak — MTX TrunkBag DXP (MTX 2.0) — Manufacturer specification: 19.4 L, 600 denier polyester, 1,185 g, 36 x 25 x 21.5-29 cm, compatible with MTX QuickTrack 2.0 racks with attachable side frames; rain cover listed as a separate product. The Amazon listing states 22.6 L; the manufacturer figure is the one we print (accessed September 20, 2026)
Ortlieb — Back-Roller pair — Manufacturer specification for the Back-Roller line: 20 L and 33.5 oz per bag, PVC-coated polyester (PD620, PS490), IP64 (dust-tight and protected against splashing water from all directions), roll closure, QL2.1 hooks with 8, 10 and 12 mm reduction inserts, 19.8 lb (9 kg) maximum payload per bag. The Amazon listing we link is the Classic QL2.1 pair, article F5302 (accessed September 20, 2026)